Laykold Cup Track Carnival on Sunday Febuary 26 boasts big prize pool

There’s over $1400 in prize money to be won at the Laykold Cup Carnival to be held at the Wellington Velodrome on February 26 from midday (registration from 11am)​. While riders from other regions are expected, it’s a great opportunity for local riders to win some of the cash on offer for every race. As well as the main trophy races - the historic Laykold Cup for open/ elite, the Poneke Plate for women and Stayers’ Cup for masters – there’s plenty of supporting races for all ages and abilities. It’s the biggest event on Wellington’s track cycling calendar so make sure you're part of it. Check out the Facebook page for details. If you have a Speed League season pass, entry is free but you

Race report – Kevin Smith Memorial

The annual Kevin Smith Memorial and PNP hosting of the Wellington Interclub HRR series was held at the Otaki race course circuit on a (rare for Wellington) fine summer day. The race consisted of seven laps of the 7.6 km circuit with the Strava circuit record falling on the day. ​ Over 60 riders took to the course across six groups with scratch (A grade) and break (B grade) attracting full fields. The break 2 riders rode well together and managed to stay away from the larger chasing groups with break 1 and scratch bearing down on them in the closing laps. ​ First Masters rider and winner of the Kevin Smith Memorial trophy was Aaron Anderson riding in the break 2 group. Also from break 2 was t

Tunnel Gully Relay

Hey MTB riders. The event organisers for the Tunnel Gully MTB Relay have asked us to help spread the word about the fantastic event they are trying to get off the ground. So here are some of the details. Your team can include up to five riders, racing relay style through some of the best 4wd and single track around. You can race for either 6 or 12 hours. You pick the number of people in your team, you pick the length of time you want to race, you pick your team race order, and you pick how often you ride. It's as easy as that! 12 hour teams will start at 8am on Saturday morning. 6 hour teams will start at 2pm on Saturday. All riders finish at 8pm Saturday, with a prize giving to follow.

Kevin Smith Memorial

PNP are running the Kevin Smith Memorial Race combined with the third round of the Interclub on Saturday 11th February. Sign on/registration will be open from 8:30am at the Otaki race course. The race will be held on the Otaki course from Otaki-Maori Horse Racing Club. Online entry is now open and closes at 6pm on Friday 10th February at 6pm. It will also be possible to enter on the day. Afternoon tea and prize giving will be at the Otaki Race Course after the race. The Kevin Smith Memorial trophy will be awarded to the first masters rider on handicap. Interclub handicap points will go towards the series held over four races by the Kapiti, Wellington Masters, Masterton and PNP clubs. The rac

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Social Icon


+64 21 49 22 31
  • Facebook - Black Circle


  • Facebook - Black Circle


  • Facebook - Black Circle


©2016 BY SPIDER Websites –  Krissy O'Connor