Big, strong team to represent Wellington at the 2017 National Track Championships

A total of 25 riders have been named in the two teams representing Wellington at the National Track Championships in 2017. The Elite and Under 19 Championships are in Invercargill from 2-5 February 2017, while the Age Group and Under 19 Omnium Championships are in Cambridge 15-19 March 2017. Wellington teams have performed increasingly well over the past few years resulting in the last year’s impressive medal haul. The teams are managed and selected by volunteers from PNP in the form of team managers, handlers and mechanics accompanying the riders. The PNP Track Committee and Wellington Centre wish to extend their thanks in advance to all of them. Wellington Elite/U19 Track Cycling National

Burkes Cycles Speed League Spring Series Wrap: Huntin’ Hunkin Unstoppable

Lisa Hunkin continued her domiance of the women’s competitions at the seventh round of the track cycling Burkes Cycles Speed League Spring Series held at the Wellington Velodrome in Hataitai on Sunday December 11. Hunkin picked up another 12 league points with a great win in the B grade 2 lap Sprinters’ Scratch and second in the 8 lap Scratch. Hunkin, last season’s overall women’s victor is well in front of her nearest rival on points and well poised to take another Champion System winner’s jersey. With her focus on the shorter events, she has been unstoppable in the one-on-one The Lanes Sprint Ace races, and Sunday was no exception, as Hunkin smoothly beat Grace Saywell into second. With Sp

2016 Rice Mountain Classic Results

This years edition of the Rice Mountain Classic was run on Sunday 11 December. First held in 1996 the race honours the contribution to the club by Alan Rice. The Rice Mountain is without question one of the regions highest prized titles, being raced over extremely demanding courses, it has always found worthy winners. Past winners include Jeremy Vennell, Jeremy Yates, Scott Lyttle, Antosh Kowalewski, Hayden Roulston, Andy Hagan, Dave Rowlands, Wayne Hiscock and Brent Backhouse. The womens trophy has been won by Serena Sheriden, Tracey Best, Catherine Dunn, Susie Wood (4 time winner) and Nadene Boyle. A Grade A small but quality field of 17 riders started this year’s (A grade) Rice Mountain

PNP Masters 2 Win North Island Teams Series

The final round of the North Island Teams Series was held around Masterton on Sunday. Across the five rounds many PNP members have raced in various teams, including a team entered by PNP in the ever competitive Masters 2 category. Going in to the final race on Sunday Kerrin Allwood was in the leaders jersey by a single point from Gary Anderson from Velo Ronnys Trek. The PNP Masters team was also in the hunt for the team win so there was plenty up for grabs! In the end Gary took the race win, with Kerrin coming across in third, not quite enough to retain the jersey but taking out second overall for the series. There is certainly no shame in being beaten by a former Olympian and Commonwealth g

Burkes Cycles Speed League Spring Series R6: Burke vs Perry in Sprint Ace Thriller!

Gideon Burke won a thrilling The Lanes Sprint Ace ride off at the sixth round of the Burkes Cycles Speed League Spring Series at the Wellington Velodrome on Sunday December 4. Burke was second to Grant Perry in the qualifying event, the A grade 2 Lap Sprinters’ Scratch, in which the first two riders go through to race a one-on-one match sprint for Sprint Ace honours. Perry and Burke guarded each other closely until the final 200m when Perry dropped down the banking and launched his sprint. Burke was right on him though and remained out of the saddle as the raced neck and neck into the finishing straight. Burke was given the victory by less than a tyre’s width and the organisers are consideri

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Social Icon


+64 21 49 22 31
  • Facebook - Black Circle


  • Facebook - Black Circle


  • Facebook - Black Circle


©2016 BY SPIDER Websites –  Krissy O'Connor