Wellington Centre Road Championship

Wellington Centre Road Championship – Couchman Challenge Cup


First Wellington Centre Road Champs was first contested on 7 September 1929 and won by Sid Webber.


The senior mens road title has been contested every year since, the exception being during the WWII years 1941-44. It is a spectacular cup with a wealth of history etched into it, and has been raised aloft by the likes of G Amey (’37-’38), G Ulmer (’58), H Kent (’67-’68), G Miller (’80), C Jenner (’93) and G McCauley (’98). The Womens title has been contested each year since 2002, with the majority of winners going on the represent New Zealand.


The course used for the champs has changed many times over the years, with the Wairarapa being used recently. The champs are currently contested in March or April each year, coinciding with the National Club Championships when local riders are generally peaking.


The Couchman Challange Cups are awarded to the winner of the Mens and Womens Open/U23 grades.


The Wellington Centre Road Championship information can be found on the calendar.