top of page

Hawkins Hill Challenge

Road vs MTB vs Runner

Apr 13, 2018

10:00AM – 12:00PM

Hawkins Hill Challenge

Due to lack of entries, we unfortunately had to make the decision to cancel this race.

Owhiro Bay, Wellington to the radar dome on Hawkins Hill

Please reload


Registrations 8:30 – 9:30 AM

Racing 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM


Beginning around 2008, the event attracts Wellington's finest mountain goats to shoot it out up Hawkins Hill. The race originally finished at the Airways building about 1km before the summit, but since about 2013, has finished at the ‘golfball’ radar at the very summit of Hawkins Hill.

In recent years, the event has doubled as the Road Hill Climb Champs, which had originally been held up Horokiwi.

Race notes

All competitors gather at the corner of Owhiro Bay (at the bottom of Happy Valley Road).

We'll have a mass start where everyone will head north (up) on Happy Valley Road.

At the Tip Track entrance runners and mountain bikers split off left, up the Tip Track, while Road cyclists continue up Happy Valley Road.

Mountain bikers and runners take the Tip Track to the top, then take the right track up to Hawkins Hill Road. At the road turn left and give it everything for the final sprint to the top of Hawkins Hill (by the Radar Dome).

Road cyclists continue up Happy Valley Road as far as the Brooklyn lights then turn left onto Todman Street. From there take a sharp left on to Mitchell Street, then right on to Karepa Street, and left on to Ashton Fitchett Drive and finally veer right on to Hawkins Hill Road. Riders continue up past the wind turbine and Luxury Dog Stay to the top of Hawkins Hill.

The mountain bike, runner and road cyclists courses intersect approximately 1km from the top, and at that point racers come together for the final blast up the steep climb to the finish.

The Runner and Mountain bike course is 5.3km. The Road course is 13.98km. The vertical gain (distance) is 466 metres.

For more information

Previous results

2008 Men's winner – Andy Hagan (Road)

2009 Men's winner – Brendan Sharratt (Road)

2010 Hawkins Hill >>

2011 Hawkins Hill >>

2012 Hawkins Hill >>

2013 Hawkins Hill >>

2014 Hawkins Hill >>

2015 Hawkins Hill >>

bottom of page