top of page

Sun, 07 Aug


Wainuiomata Hill, Gracefield

WSC Hill Climb Gravity Grinder

It's all about the legs! Who can be the fastest up the Wainuiomata Hill? Better still - can you beat your time from last year?

Registration is Closed
See other events
WSC Hill Climb Gravity Grinder
WSC Hill Climb Gravity Grinder

Time & Location

07 Aug 2022, 9:00 am – 10:30 am

Wainuiomata Hill, Gracefield, Gracefield Road, Gracefield, Lower Hutt, New Zealand

About the Event

The Gravity Grinder is the toughest hill-climb of the season for schools riders to conquer!

Riders gather at the carpark on Gracefield Rd (outside Callaghan Innovation). 

Warm-ups are preferred on wind-trainers or rollers to keep kids off the road. Riders are then sent off at 30 seconds or 1 minute intervals from outside the GNS Science complex and ride up the cycle-path to the top of the hill in the shortest time possible. Anyone missing their start will be allocated another start time at the back of the field.

Please Note: sorry, there are no toilets at the start. The nearest toilets are 1km away at the Z Petrol Station, Seaview Rd or at the Hutt Park complex.

Riders can earn valuable points for their school to go towards the inter-school points trophies (Yr 7-8, U16 & U20).

Additionally the fastest boy and girl get to have their name engraved on the Hill Climb trophy.

First rider off at 9am. Early riders will need to be warmed-up prior to this time. A start sheet will be sent out onto the Schools facebook page:

Please register on-line here. Entry is $5.00 per person, paid for on the day

All riders welcome using any kind of bicycle provided it's powered by legs.


Grade No School                  Name                    Actual Time    

U11W  1  Newlands Primary Amelia Burkhart       13:51:00 

U12     2  Seatoun Primary    Kingsley McGuigan   9:58:00

U13     3  Tawa Int                 Ila Makasini               DNF         

U13     4 T awa Int                 Angus Warren          11:11:00 

U14     5  Raumati Beach      Liam Parkes               9:29:00 

U16W  6  St Mary's College  Lara Comeskey          8:11:00 

U16W  7  Kapiti College        Millie Donald              8:06:00 

U16     8  Rongotai College   Bertie McGuigan        7:07:00 

U17W  9  WEGC                   Mikayla Perry             9:47:00 

U17   10  HVHS                    Nate Beard                 6:10:00

U17   11  Onslow College     Alex Foden                 7:16:00

U19   12  Scots College        Elliot Robertson         6:02:00

Share This Event

bottom of page