2012 BP Race 2 Results

Perfect conditions greeted 75 riders to race two of the Balfour Pennington Handicap series in Upper Hutt on Saturday 11 August.

The handicap groups had been adjusted after BP1 and the gaps had been tightened to ensure an honest race and that is what we got.

In the Cat 1 race, Break 2 managed to survive and finish 30 seconds up on the fast charging Scratch group with Paul Delahunty taking the sprint from Matthew Web-Smith. That is Paul’s second win in Cat 1 of the 2012 BP Series and it is also the second time Cat 1 Break 2 has taken the handicap honours – you can be sure the handicapper will set gaps that do not favour them next week.

The Cat 2 race was also a tight affair with Break3 working well as a team to outlast the remnants of Scratch, Break and Break2 who also came in 30 seconds late.

Summary Results:

Cat 1 Handicap:
1. Paul Delahunty
2. Matthew Web-Smith
3. Cameron Wood

Cat 1 Fastest Time:
1. Craig Lawn
2. Stuart Houltham
3. Greg Taylor

Cat 2 Handicap:
1. Graeme Perry
2. Allan Moss
3. Vincent Fry

Cat 2 Fastest Time:
1. Martin Leighton
2. Chris Walters
3. Kah Chan

Full results <here>

The Series Table after 2 rounds in the Balfour Pennington Mens Cup (Cat 2), the Balfour Pennington Womens Cup (Cat 2) and the Dunlop Cup (Cat 1) is available here 2012 BP Series Points Table (after round 2)

Note – the current results may show some PNP members who have new timing tags recorded as ‘visitors’. Future results will have the correct membership status based on data refreshed weekly from BikeNZ.